comfort blog

Posted On March 12, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Comments Dropped leave a response

This blog isn’t sure what it wants to be yet. Should it be all about the many travails of the stay-at-home mama/writer? A craft blog? The saga of my weight-loss woes? Or the epic rumors of our life in Alaska, all in one place? Or what about being a Pagan and budding tarot reader in America? I don’t know yet. And since I don’t know, here is the cure for it all: soup. Or, more specifically, my favorite comfort-soup recipe, which I tweaked until it came out completely different on the other side. I wish I had a picture! Maybe when I find that USB cord.

GREEK-STYLE POTATO SOUP (serves 6)

4-6 potatoes (peeled or unpeeled, I like them unpeeled), diced

1 medium onion, diced

1 1/2 t salt

dash pepper

5 1/4 c water

Cook until potatoes are tender.

Heat in second pot (your larger pot):

1 1/2 T butter

1 1/2 T flour

Stir to make a roux.

Add:

3 c liquid drained from potatoes

Cook and stir until smooth. Now add the yogurt, 1/4c at a time, until you’ve reached the tartness you desire. Add the potatoes and onions back to the soup. I like to add up to a cup, stirring like mad, otherwise it separates and looks weird. Throw in some fresh dill, up to 1T (2T for dried). You’re done! Eat up, mmm!

Leave a Reply

